You searched for Postal Code: 40422
Showing results 1 to 10 of 41
First governor of Kentucky
Fifth governor of Kentucky
One of Shelby's first acts as Governor was to call for and help design the Great Seal of the Commonwealth of Kentucky. The figures of a pioneer and statesman in this…
Grayson's Tavern, circa 1785, was owned and operated by Benjamin Grayson as the first tavern in Danville. The political club of Danville, formed in 1786, met here frequently to discuss issues which formed the framework of the Kentucky Constitution.
The original log meeting house, erected on this site in 1784 under the direction of reverend David Rice, housed the newly formed Concord Presbyterian Congregation, the first Presbyterians in Kentucky. This replica was erected in 1942.
This building is the original First Post Office west of the Allegheny Mountains. General Thomas Barbee commissioned first Post Master, August 20, 1792. Logs moved from Walnut Street to Constitution Square. Dedicated to the State of Kentucky by the…
This original building built pre-1792, served as the first office west of the Alleghenies. On August 20, 1792, Thomas Barbee was commissioned postmaster. The first mail was received on November 3, 1792. The post office was moved here from its orig…
Fisher's Row, circa 1816-1817, was built by Jeremiah Fisher as the first rental property in Danville. Fisher's row consists of two, two-story houses with a common wall. The brick is laid in the Flemish Bond Pattern.
The Watts-Bell House circa 1816-1817, was built by William Watts for leading Danville merchant David Bell. Joshua Fry Bell, grandson of David Bell, grew up in this house. He became a distinguished lawyer and statesman, serving as a member of the K…
This one-story brick building, originally only two rooms, was the first brick schoolhouse in Danville. The schoolhouse, circa 1820, was renovated in 1975.
The original log courthouse, which was built on this site in 1784-1785, housed the Supreme Court of Kentucky and the Constitutional Conventions which led to Kentucky's statehood on June 1, 1792. This replica was erected in 1942.
Native of Delaware. Trained in medicine and surgery under E. McDowell, lived in this house 1825-30. He performed the 3rd ovariotomy in the U.S. (1823), was the first to perform laminectomy (1829), and was an innovative contributor to urologic surg…