Historical Marker Search

You searched for Postal Code: 44870

Showing results 1 to 10 of 25
This Property Has Been Placed On The National Register of Historic Places By the United States Department of the Interior
Owned by Lester Hubbard, this Romanesque building was built in 1855 and was designed by architect Sheldon Smith who later occupied the 3rd floor. It was home to the Cosmopolitan Art and Literary Association, a national organization devoted to the …
Originally, this site housed the West House, a hotel which sometimes sheltered the guards for Johnson's Island, the Confederate officers' prison camp across Sandusky Bay. The building was erected by William F. Seitz and his sons as a complete a…
This building served as Cedar Point's winter offices from 1928 and after for Mr. Boeckling, the entrepreneur who first developed the resort into an amusement park. Because the Bay freezes in the winter, this site offered a convenient location to c…
Jay Cooke was born on this site August 10, 1821. Financier and promoter of The Norther Pacific Railroad, he sold bonds to finance the Union during the Civil War 1861~1865.
Piers were in existence here as early as 1846. Later three long piers were built by the Baltimore and Ohio Railway for commercial use. Iron ore, grain, lumber, sand, crushed stone and packaged freight were shipped from this point. The B&O Railway …
First Marker Weldon B. Cooke, Thomas W. Benoist, Reinhardt N. Asumus experimented in early aviation from this site 1912 - 1927. Second Marker One of Sandusky Shipyard Sites Sail and Steamboats were built 1864-1933 Among the builders were: Moss …
In 1862 James J. Hinde and Jacob J. Dauch established a bailing business to sell straw to paper mills, and in 1886 they became partners in a bankrupt mill on Pierce Street then known as the Sandusky Paper Company. Under their leadership the compan…
This property has been placed on the National Register of Historical Places" by the United States Department of the Interior.
Marker Front:Of the city's 5,667 people in 1849, 3,500 fled, and 400 of those remaining were victims of cholera. Most are buried here, some only in rough boxes in a common grave. The scourge came again in 1850 and 1852 but with less toll."Dismay s…