Historical Marker Search

You searched for Postal Code: 70116

Showing results 1 to 10 of 66
Has been placed on the National Register of Historic Places By the United States Department of the Interior
(front side) In 1808, the US Congress abolished the international slave trade, contributing to a significant increase in the domestic slave trade, or the trafficking of human beings within the boundaries of the United States. During the fifty-sev…
Located in the Faubourg Marigny, from the corner of Esplanade Ave. and Chartres St., is the former site of Theophilus Freeman's notorious slave pan (demolished after the Civil War) where Solomon Northup, a free man of color from New York, was sold…
Founded in 1869 by the Brothers of the Scared Heart on Chartres Street in the Vieux Carré, St. Aloysius College moved in 1892 to a building on Rampart Street, then in 1925 to a new building at the corner of Esplanade Avenue and Rampart Stre…
James Freret, ArchitectFerdinand Reusch, Jr., BuilderDedicated on November 12, 1895, as the Chapel of Reparations and Monastery of the Discalced Nuns. The cornerstone was laid in 1891 by Archbishop Francis Janssens.The Carmelites, a Catholic Order…
The cornerstone of the monastery was laid in April, 1891, James Feret, Architect, Fred Reusch, Jr, Builder. Founded by the Discalced Carmelite nuns, a contemplative and strictly cloistered order of nuns restored to the primitive rule established b…
1005 St. Peter Guest House circa 1805 Has been placed on the National Register of Historic Places by the United States Department of the Interior
The original French market coffee stand, serving café au lait and hot beignets (French doughnuts) 24 hours a day, year around. This familiar New Orleans landmark has been located in the French market since the early 1860's.
In 1792 the Spanish Colonial Government built a boy's public school on this site. After the Louisiana Purchase it served as the first United States District Court of the Louisiana Territory. Here in 1815, after the Battle of New Orleans General…
One of three once identical row houses erected in 1834 for Henry Raphael Denis, an attorney. Dr. Jokichi Takamine (1854-1922), Japanese chemist, philanthropist and co-commissioner for the 1884-1885 World's Cotton Exposition, is said to have res…