You searched for Postal Code: 79843
Showing results 1 to 10 of 18
HereMilton Faverestablished in the fifties the firstAnglo-American owned ranchin the Big BendThree quadrangular adobe fortressessituated at the Big SpringsCibolo, Cienaga and La Moritaserved as a defense againsthostile Apaches
George H. Brooks (1833-1911) served in a California volunteer unit during the Civil War before settling in Presidio County in the 1860s. In 1878 he married Mexican native Ygnacia Reza. This cemetery began with the burial of their son, Albion E. Br…
Milton Faver (ca.1822-1889), a native of the Midwest United States, moved to this area in the 1850s from Presidio del Norte, where he owned a general store and operated a freighting business on the Chihuahua Trail. By the 1880s, Faver controlled v…
At confluence of Concho andRio Grande Rivers.A settlement for over 10,000 yearsSite offirst recorded wagon traincrossing into TexasDecember 10, 1582Headed by Antonio de Espejo
Formed from Bexar CountyCreated January 3, 1850Organized March 13, 1875
So named for the early "Fortressgarrisoned by soldiers."Erected for the protection of theBig Bend missions.
Built in 1920 by the Galveston, Harrisburg, and San Antonio Railway Company, the Marfa stockyards provided a central shipping point for livestock raised in Presidio, Jeff Davis, and Brewster counties. As many as 70,000 head of cattle were shipped …
In 1940, Marfa received a Works Progress Administration (WPA) grant of more than $15,000 to help build a new gymnasium named to honor athletic director Boren Hunter. The modified rectangular plan building features plastered adobe infill walls, a r…
A landmark of the Big Bend. Large dome is visible for miles. Constructed of native stone and brick made at Marfa. Stucco added later.
Built 1886 in this county's third seat of justice. First county seat was Fort Leaton, on the Rio Grande; secon…
This was the home of rancher, merchant and community leader John Humphris and his wife Mary. Built in 1883 by local builder Saturnino Naborette, the house represents traditional building methods of early pioneer days in west Texas, with a central …
Education for local children of Mexican descent dates from 1889, when the former Methodist church became a schoolhouse. The school, named for longtime principal Jesse Blackwell, served hundreds of Hispanic children up to ninth grade. Students were…