Historical Marker Search

You searched for Postal Code: 94596

Showing results 1 to 10 of 65
Oldest church building in Walnut Creek Originally located on Locust Street Erected 1888 -1889 Consecrated, April 26, 1891 by Bishop William Ford Nichols
This building at the corner of Locust and Cypress (originally School ad China Streets) was a private home until 1949, when it was converted to a funeral home and morgue. The building has been in commercial use since that time. A circular stained g…
The town's first house of worship, the Methodist Church, originally stood behind this site on Main Street. By the early 1900s, Main was a bustling commercial street, so the church was moved here. In the 1950s, the congregation built a new church o…
Walnut Creek Masonic Lodge - founded around 1873 - built its Masonic Temple in 1916. Previously, the group met on Main Street. The building was expanded in 1953. It closed as a Temple in 1984 and was remodeled for commercial use.
Local Presbyterians first held their Sunday services in the schoolhouse, then built their first church at this site in 1884. They replaced their wooden church with a stone structure in the 1930s, then moved to a new location a few blocks away in t…
Local Christian Scientists first organized in Walnut Creek in 1913, meeting each Sunday at the Masonic Temple. Church members built their own church on Locust Street in 1924 and building a larger church on the same site in 1949. The church moved t…
The Italianate house across the street was originally built as a ranch home for Lawrence Peel and his wife, Margretta. Peel operated a mercantile store on Main Street in the 1860s. The home had many owners over the years and was built by Eldridge …
Walnut Creek's Veterans Memorial Building was both a meeting place for local veterans and other groups and a popular site for weekend dances. The building also doubled as a County courthouse. Local veterans now have a new building in Lafayette.
Originally located at another Main Street site, Valley Mercantile move into the old Grange Hall at this corner around 1910. The owner, Joseph Silviara, replaced the wood structure with a brick building in 1916. In addition to its retail business, …
Preferring cars to the family meat business, Lester Lawrence opened this auto garage across from his brother's meat market in 1921. Soon, he also began selling cars. He owned several dealerships over the years, including a dealership on North Main…