"Formerly known as the "Village of Bohemia," Chesapeake City owes its existence to the Chesapeake and Delaware Canal.
From the time work began on the canal in 1824, the village became a hub of activity and a thriving port, creating a community of wealthy merchants, bankers, caterers, canal administrators, teachers and others. Homes, stores, warehouses and shops sprung up as canal traffic increased.
An Era of Change-When the federal government took over the C&O Canal a century after it opened, a series of improvements were made to the canal and road system that brought major changes to both the community and the local economy.br>
The canal was widened and deepened, making passage easier and faster for ships, eliminating the need to stop. In 1948, and improved bridge over the canal allowed supertankers to pass through, but bypassed the town in the process, reducing visitor traffic and isolating the community.
Preserving History-Today Chesapeake City extends both north and south of the canal. Many areas are listed on the National Register of Historic Places, attracting visitors seeking its historic architecture and character.br>
As you explore the town, imagine what it was like during the city's heyday—the hustle and bustle of laborers, working shipmen coming off the docks and merchants as they, too, traveled these streets.
(Inscription on the photo at the center bottom)
Early workmen's home-siding made of oars from arks.-Image courtesy Town of Chesapeake City.
(Inscription below the photo in the upper center)
Bridge over old lock. Image courtesy Cecil County Historical Society.
(Inscription under the photo in the middle center)
Old Lock Pump House, Chesapeake and Delaware Canal, exterior of wheel building, Courtesy photo.
(Inscription in the photo in the bottom center)
Rees House and Office c.1870.