Circa 1932Constructed after the Great Fire of 1899, these buildings once housed Jake Weil's clothing store named The Hub and Schwing and Carsten's Department Store. In 1932, Justin Wormser established Wormser's Department Store in the westernmost building. After purchasing his leased space and the adjacent building in 1934, Mr. Wormser renovated the facade to its present Art Deco style. In the same year, his son Harold left Tulane to help run the retail business. In 1966 Harold Wormser purchased the easternmost building from Philip Weil connecting the three structures. The extensive showcase windows of the 1930;s provided citizens the opportunity to promenade down main street on Saturday night.
|Placed By||Iberia Cultural Resources Association|
|Marker Condition||No reports yet|
|Date Added||Saturday, June 17th, 2017 at 9:01am PDT -07:00|
|UTM (WGS84 Datum)||15R E 614005 N 3319970|
|Decimal Degrees||30.00538333, -91.81793333|
|Degrees and Decimal Minutes||N 30° 0.323', W 91° 49.076'|
|Degrees, Minutes and Seconds||30° 0' 19.38" N, 91° 49' 4.56" W|
|Driving Directions||Google Maps|
|Which side of the road?||Marker is on the right when traveling South|
|Closest Postal Address||At or near 112 E Main St, New Iberia LA 70560, US|
|Alternative Maps||Google Maps, MapQuest, Bing Maps, Yahoo Maps, MSR Maps, OpenCycleMap, MyTopo Maps, OpenStreetMap|
Have you seen this marker? If so, check in and tell us about it.