Originally called Mt. Ida, Mt. Adams was a significant section of the Nicholas Longworth Vineyard, which developed the Catawba grape from which America's first champagne was produced. The name was changed to Mt. Adams in 1843 to honor President John Quincy Adams who visited here to dedicate the Cincinnati Observatory. In mid-19th century Mt. Adams became the home of German and Irish immigrants. Following examples of earlier vintner cottages, they built homes conforming to the steep topography with wood and stone from local quarries. Many homes had a garden, vineyard, spring and smokehouse. Archbishop Purcell established Immaculata Church (1859) for the German speaking population. The Irish attended Holy Cross Monastery (1873) and Church (1895). Pilgrim Chapel, a Presbyterian preaching station was built in 1886. Numerous beer gardens and amusement places including the famous Highland House (f875) and the Pyrotechnic Gardens (1850) were built. Residents and visitors traveled to and from downtown via the Mt. Adams Incline (1874-1948). With the addition of Rookwood Pottery (1892), Sterling Cut Glass (1902) and the nearby Art Museum (1881) and Academy (1869) many artists chose to reside here.
Topography, architecture and history combine to give Mt. Adams a unique atmosphere and focus among Cincinnati's legendary hills and neighborhoods.
by the Mt. Adams Preservation Association, a committee of the Mt. Adams Civic Association. A.D. MCMLXXXII