On January 13th, 1886, Daniel Billington Griffin purchased a certain tract of land situated in Wakefield Village from Rowland & John N. Hazard for the sum of 2,000 dollars.
This particular parcel of land was located on the corner of Post Road (present day Main Street) & Robinson Street opposite the railroad station (present day Northup's Imported Car Service).
Mr. Griffin began to add buildings to this vacant parcel of land.
By 1886, D.B. Griffin's Apothecary was doing business out of the current home of Brickley's Ice Cream.
Additional structures were added along the way: 328 Main Street in 1888, 330 Main Street in 1892, 324 and 326 Main Street in 1895, and 318 Main Street circa 1920.
There were also buildings along Robinson Street, and in the rear parking areas, that have been removed or replaced by new structures.
In 1888 Mary Whaley authored a short story entitled "A Stroll Down Main Street."
She described Main Street, its buildings and assorted landmarks, as well as its business and property owners.
As she strolled down Main Street, she referred to the corner of Main and Robinson Street as "Griffin's Hollow," and stated that this was where the circus would set up, and the townspeople would gather to watch the performance.
The buildings of Griffin's Hollow will have small, historical
markers that will show when the buildings were constructed, and name the first occupants of Mr. Griffin's empire.
Learn, explore, shop and enjoy the shops of Griffin's Hollow.
Spangles, Sense of Style, elle G, Pier Pizza Company, Brickley's Ice Cream
Graphic Expressions, Smoothy Booty, Zocalo, New York Life, Lulu, The Glass Station