Above the icy waters of Port Tobacco Creek, flames swept through the halls of Saint Thomas Manor Complex.
The chimney fire of December 1866 gutted the complex, leaving a skeleton of smoldering brick walls. But local Jesuit churches and schools raised money to rebuild the structures you see today. This wasn't the only transformation of the manor's storied history. Before 1690, the original chapel, cemetery, and residence stood by the water's edge. After moving uphill, the new position provided protection from floods and raids.
(Image of church tinted in different colors.)
Six early priests buried under the chapel.
Church cornerstone blessed in August 1798.
First hilltop residence built about 1690, second floor added after the fire.
Jesuit residence and Manor House built in 1741, serving an administrative corner of the farm.
Brick chapel connecting Manor House and Church built in 1697.
Saint Ignatius Church built in 1798, steeple added in 1880.
(Image of damaged church.)
The fire of 1860 destroyed the original roof and interior furnishings.
(Logo for Southern Maryland Heritage Area Consortium)
Discover more at www.DestinationSouthernMaryland.com
(Logos for St. Ingatius
Church, Maryland Byways, Maryland Heritage Areas Authority)
This project has been financed in part with state funds from the Maryland Heritage Areas Authority, an instrumentality of the State of Maryland. However, the contents and opinions do not necessarily reflect views or policies of the Maryland Heritage Areas Authority.