Thurmont Attractions

Thurmont Attractions (HM2FED)

Location:
Buy flags at Flagstore.com!

N 39° 37.374', W 77° 24.49'

  • 0 likes
  • 0 check ins
  • 0 favorites
  • 55 views
Inscription
Approximately 100 covered bridges have existed in Maryland during the past 200 years, but only 6 remain with 3 of them in northern Frederick County. Two of these bridges are in close proximity to the town of Thurmont. Shown on the right is Roddy Road Covered Bridge, built in 1856, rests just north of Thurmont off of US 15, where Roddy Creek Rd. meets Roddy Rd. at Owens Creek. The smallest of the county's covered bridges, single span Kingpost Design Bridge measuring 40-feet long. Shown on the left is Loys Station Bridge, located on Old Frederick Rd, just south of Rt 77. First constructed circa 1880, the bridge has been structurally rebuilt the bridge's original timbers remain throughout the 90-foot long structure crossing Owens Creek. It features multiple Kingpost design.

The town of Thurmont, established in 1751, Gateway to the Mountains, offering a wealth of scenery, wildlife, wildflowers, historic
buildings, hiking trails, scenic drives, camping and fly-fishing for many hikers and bikers as they energetically explore Catoctin National Park. Cunningham Falls State Park, located west of Thurmont, named for a 78-foot cascading waterfall is the destination for visitors interested in hiking, swimming picnicking, boating, playgrounds, camper cabins/campsites available seasonally. The park also includes a 43-acre lake and trails



to the Cunningham Falls. Also nestled in the Catoctin Mountains is Camp David, the Presidential Retreat and get-a-way for many U.S. Presidents and their diplomatic visitors. Camp David was also the site for the 2012 G-8 Summit.

Thurmont was named a "Main Street Maryland Community" in 2005 and continues to focus on the appearance, image and economy of our business district. We proudly serve as "home" to family-owned businesses, large corporations, schools, churches, great restaurants, civic organizations, historic as well as new housing, all surrounded by fertile agricultural areas and orchards filled with mouth-watering fruit.

Catoctin Furnace lron Works, is located approximately 3 miles south of Thurmont was built around a family owned iron making
business created by James Johnson in 1774. James, a skilled ironmaster had several partners, including his brother Thomas,
Maryland's first governor. The works produced various tools and household items such as stove plates for widely used heating and
cooking stoves, fire backs, tools, weights and utensils. In the 1780's, the Continental Congress contracted the Iron Works to cast ten inch shells for use in the Revolutionary War. The remaining furnace stack "Isabella" was constructed during the ownership of Peregrine Fitzhugh. The furnace stack was likely named for his daughter, Isabella Hudson Fitzhugh.

With the birth of larger businesses and newer technologies, the "furnace" discontinued after 125 years but Catoctin Furnace remains, along with many of the original cottages that make up the "furnace" community. The Collier's Log House is unique and is a significant example of the simple dwellings occupied by hard-working furnace laborers, many of whom were enslaved African Americans and later European immigrants, who produced the iron ore and finished products used throughout the late 18th and 19th centuries in the United States. A self-guided tour can take you to the remaining furnace stack, the Ironmaster's Manor House ruins, the stone church built for the iron workers and the village of Catoctin Furnace.

Memorial Park is located across from the trolley substation on East Main Street. The citizens of Thurmont planned and erected this park in honor of those who fought and gave their lives in the great World War. The Memorial Park was dedicated in November 1922. Over the years, the park has served as a meeting place for various memorial services, concerts and other local events. This Memorial Park was deeded over to the Town of Thurmont and today it is administered as part of the town's park system. Since the dedication in 1922, the park has been rededicated to those who have served in every war since WWI. Marble plaques have been added bearing names of those citizens who have served in these wars. Memorial Park continues to be a significant reminder of Thurmont's history.
Details
HM NumberHM2FED
Tags
Marker ConditionNo reports yet
Date Added Saturday, April 6th, 2019 at 8:01pm PDT -07:00
Pictures
Sorry, but we don't have a picture of this historical marker yet. If you have a picture, please share it with us. It's simple to do. 1) Become a member. 2) Adopt this historical marker listing. 3) Upload the picture.
Locationbig map
UTM (WGS84 Datum)18S E 293301 N 4388675
Decimal Degrees39.62290000, -77.40816667
Degrees and Decimal MinutesN 39° 37.374', W 77° 24.49'
Degrees, Minutes and Seconds39° 37' 22.44" N, 77° 24' 29.4" W
Driving DirectionsGoogle Maps
Which side of the road?Marker is on the right when traveling West
Closest Postal AddressAt or near , ,
Alternative Maps Google Maps, MapQuest, Bing Maps, Yahoo Maps, MSR Maps, OpenCycleMap, MyTopo Maps, OpenStreetMap

Is this marker missing? Are the coordinates wrong? Do you have additional information that you would like to share with us? If so, check in.

Check Ins  check in   |    all

Have you seen this marker? If so, check in and tell us about it.

Comments 0 comments

Maintenance Issues
  1. What country is the marker located in?
  2. Is this marker part of a series?
  3. What historical period does the marker represent?
  4. What historical place does the marker represent?
  5. What type of marker is it?
  6. What class is the marker?
  7. What style is the marker?
  8. Does the marker have a number?
  9. What year was the marker erected?
  10. Who or what organization placed the marker?
  11. This marker needs at least one picture.
  12. Can this marker be seen from the road?
  13. Is the marker in the median?