This "little gem of a stone church," built and
dedicated in 1893, is constructed of locally quarried,
rusticated Berea sandstone blocks. A Celtic cross at
the top of the west wall represented the areas of
Great Britain from which many original parish
members immigrated to this area of Ohio. The
chapel is named in honor of John Ogilvy. He was
not a member of St. Thomas Church, but he did
leave a bequest which the parish used to erect
the chapel. It was constructed at a cost of $4,174.70.
Memorial windows on the west wall of Ogilvy Chapel
honor Joseph Nichols, Marvin E. Stone, William A
James, and the Rev. Willis B. French. Nichols served
as mayor of Berea in 1878 and 1879. Stone, a warden
of St. Phillip's (Albion/Strongsville), became a
highly regarded member of St. Thomas after it
absorbed the languishing parishes of St. Phillip's
and St. Luke's in 1873. As part of the merger,
St. Phillip's gave its church building to St. Thomas.
James was a strong supporter of St. Thomas and
served in the vestry. Rev. French was St. Thomas's
rector from 1879 to 1887.