This building was erected in 1914 as the home of the Mechanics Trust Company, a Harrisburg bank that later went "bust" during the Depression. the Bank was one of many of the era that made Harrisburg the region's financial center, a role the city has expanded in the present day. It also served as one of Harrisburg's first high-rise office buildings, contributing to the early 20th Century urbanization of City Center. Listed in the National Register of Historic Places, the building is architecturally unique through its white, glazed terra cotta, tiled exterior. In 1925, the structure was expanded from six bays to ten bays in depth through the application of the identical architectural style and height to that of the original structure. Originally known as the Kunkel Building in honor of Charles Kunkel, Chairman of the Mechanics Trust Company, the structure now serves as a tower for arts organizations with the Susquehanna Art Museum occupying the strikingly designed first three floor.
Circa 1920 view of the Kunkel Building, complete with awnings, reveals the structure prior to its rear addition.