Fort Sill was named by General Orders No. 25, HQ, Department of the Missouri, U.S. Army, on July 2, 1869. The post's name honors the memory of Brigadier General Joshua W. Sill, killed at the Battle of Stone River, Tennessee, in December, 1862. Previously referred to as "Camp on Medicine Bluff Creek" or "Camp Wichita," this frontier post was established in Indian Territory to pacify and protect Indian tribes of the Southern Great Plains.
By 1901, Indian reservations in the vicinity of Fort Sill were opened to settlement for homesteaders. As the need for frontier outposts vanished, Fort Sill survived by changing from a cavalry to an artillery center. Today, the fort's rich history is preserved in the Fort Sill Museum located within the original post buildings.
Commemorated by the Oklahoma Society Daughters of the American Revolution
Jo Ann Biffle Sterling
Oklahoma State Regent
Dedicated in 1998
Limestone donated by Dolese Bros. Co.