You searched for City|State: astoria, or
Showing results 1 to 10 of 35
Built by Capt. Hiram Brown who came to Astoria area in 1848.
Original Portion of house built in Adairville (East Astoria), was barged downriver about 1865 to Tenth St. and rolled to present location without cracking wallpaper or breaking a window…
In 1849, the U.S. Government established the first U.S. Customs Office on the Pacific Coast in Astoria. Located just 200 feet west of this site, the founding of the original Custom House brought change to the Northwest. It signaled a growing U.S. …
The exterior of this reconstructed U.S. Custom House tells only part of the story. Use your imagination to visualize the space inside: a room sparsely furnished with a desk, perhaps a bookcase, wooden file cabinets, and a chair or two. The small w…
This authentic reconstruction of the 1852 U.S. Custom House was built to commemorate the bicentennial of the U.S. Custom Service. Work began in October, 1992 and was completed in May, 1994.
Reconstruction methods and tools duplicated those of …
This building was constructed in 1896 by the North Pacific Brewery and rebuilt 1928-29 by the city of Astoria to serve as a fire station.
J C Brook, Mayor
John R Arnold -'28
Anton Sorensen -'29
E C Gearhart
On April 12, 1961, Lord Astor of Hever, England, direct descendant fo John Jacob Astor from whom this city of Astoria derived its name 150 years ago, dedicated this monument to transportation. From here members of the Astor Expedition blazed eastw…
The poles or "piling" are logs from 80-year old Douglas-fir trees. They are a maximum of 60 feet in length and are embedded up to 20 feet into the river bottom. The rows of pilings were used during the log sorting and raft making process.
Dedicated to Soldiers of (the)
World War of Clatsop County
City of Astoriia
July 21, 1926
In 1804-06, Captains Meriwether Lewis and William Clark led about 40 soldiers and boatmen on an epic journey. President Thomas Jefferson commissioned this "Corps of Discovery" to find a route to the Pacific Ocean through the newly acquir…
The Corps of Discovery entered the marshes and sloughs of the Columbia's estuary in early November of 1805, but violent weather pinned them down along the river's banks for days. While camped across the river William Clark lamented, O! how horribl…