Historical Marker Search

You searched for City|State: fairfax, va

Page 6 of 7 — Showing results 51 to 60 of 66
Built in late 19th CenturyOld Town FairfaxThe original "gaol" (1802) burned down in 1884. The Alexandria jail was used until this building was completed. The last jailer, Mr. William F. Lowe, and his family lived in the front quarters of this buil…
Here on the night of March 8th, 1863, Col. John Singleton Mosby with 29 Confederate soldiers penetrated the Union lines of 3000 men and captured in the brick dwelling north of this spot Brig. General Edwin H. Stoughton, U.S.A., with 100 prisoners …
Built c.1835Old Town FairfaxIt was in this house that Ranger John Mosby captured the Union area commander Brig. Gen. Edwin H. Stoughton, in bed, the night of March 9, 1863.
Built in 1800. This building, designed by James Wren, served as the first permanent courthouse of Fairfax County.
This stone marks the scene of the opening conflict of the war of 1861-1865, when John Q. Marr, Captain of the Warrenton Rifles, who was the first soldier killed in action, fell 800 ft. S. 46 W. Mag. of this spot, June 1st, 1861.
Ten miles west were fought the two Battles of Manassas or Bull Run.
Local residents recall the period through the 1930s when Mount Calvary Baptist Church regularly conducted baptismal services in the Accotink Branch, in the pool formed at its confluence with the Tussico. White-robed candidates were immersed by the…
The Independent Line of the Manassas Gap Railroad ran through this area. Conceived to extend the Manassas Gap Railroad to Alexandria, grading on this part of the line began in September 1854. Financial problems stopped the work in May 1857. In var…
Col. John Singleton Mosby formed the 43rd Battalion Virginia Cavalry "to weaken the armies invading Virginia by harassing their rear." Near midnight on 8 March 1863, he led his horsemen undetected through Union lines to disrupt communications betw…
The historic Reid-Ballard House once stood 140 yards west-northwest of this marker. The original log structure was built by Joseph Reid before the Revolution on land inherited by his wife, Barbara Walker Reid. The house and land passed to succeedi…