You searched for City|State|Country: , la us
Showing results 1 to 10 of 10
This monument records the names of 107,000 people held in bondage in Louisiana from 1719-1820. The records were gathered from the database Afro-Louisiana History and Genealogy, created by noted historian Gwendolyn Midlo Hall. We have named this mo…
Before the Civil War, the Whitney Plantation counted 22 slave cabins on its site. They were made of cypress and were located along River Road, downriver from the Big House.
Most of the original cabins were torn down in the 1970s to enlarge the r…
On February 21, 1770 property was set aside by Spanish authority for a church on the second German Coast. When Father Bernardo de Limpach arrived in 1772, Acadians had also settled in the area. The new church took the name of the original Chapel b…
Found in Lake Pontchartrain in St. John the Baptist Parish, one-half mile from Ruddock in 1977. Used as a one-gun battery to guard the railroad along the western side of the lake. It never came under attack.
From which civil parish was named. First church on second German Coast when Louisiana was a colony of Spain. Served west and east banks of river until 1864. Old cemetery contains wife of Gen. P.G.T. Beauregard and John Slidell family tomb.
Town of LAPLACE named when a railroad stop was established on the Bazile Laplace plantation in 1883. Post office followed in 1887.It was first named Eugenia, then renamed LAPLACE in 1892.
Acquired in 1793 & 1808 by Manuel Andry,a commandant of the German Coast. Major 1811 slave uprising organized here. Ory Bros. & A. Lasseigne were last owners of plantation. Its subdivision in 1923 spurred the growth of LAPLACE.
Armand Montz Sr., 1887~1968. Built ice & packing plant in 1914; remodeled in 1930s. Packed and shipped vegetables to various parts of the U.S. Frozen food pioneer. His plant was important factor in local economy.
In 1871 on this bonnet shaped curve of the Mississippi River a disastrous break in the levee cut a wide channel to Lake Pontchartrain. Crevasse closed in 1883. Bonnet Carré spillway completed in 1932.
Formerly, Our Lady of Grace Catholic Church, this sanctuary represents an importatn historical phenomenon in the history of the Catholic Church in southern Louisiana, the formation of seperate churches for black parishioners. Prior to its founding…