You searched for Postal Code: 02420
Showing results 1 to 10 of 16
has been designated aRegistered NationalHistoric Landmark
Under the provisions of theHistoric Sites Act of August 21, 1935this site possesses exceptional valuein commemorating or illustratingthe history of the United States
U.S. Department o…
Sacred to Liberty & the Rights of mankind!!! The Freedom & Independence of America, Sealed and defended with the blood of her sons.
This Monument is erected by the inhabitants of Lexington, under the patronage & at the expense of the Commonweal…
In Honor ofPrince Estabrook
Prince Estabrook was a slave who lived in Lexington. At dawn on April, 19, 1775, he was one of the Lexington Minute Men awaiting the arrival of the British Regulars at the Buckman Tavern. In the battle which followed…
The Hancock - Clarke House- Preserved from destruction in 1890 -stands as a memorial toRev. Carleton A. Staplesthrough whose personal effortsthe building was savedand moved to this spot
Instrumental in forming theLexington Historical Society
Born in Hesse-DarmstadtSeptember 4, 1796A fearless advocateof Liberty and Justice.Exiled for conscience sake,he sought in America the freedomdenied him in the Old World.Distinguishedfor rich and varied learning,for uncompromising devotion tothe ca…
Originally part of the Samuel Winship farm, this land was deeded by his son in 1784 as a cemetery for the Robbins, Winship, Buckman, Bowman and other Lexington families. Stephen Robbins and his son Eli, who are buried here, operated a fur dressing…
Dedicated tothe memory ofthose who servedaboard a shipnamedLexington
————————-April 18, 1988————————- The Lexington Lions ClubU.S.S. Lexington CV-16…
These men gave everything dear in life, yea and life itself in support of the common cause.
Back of Monument:Memorialto the Lexington Minute Men who wereon the Green in the early morning engagementApril 19, 1775
Capt. John Parker · Lt…
Site of the first threeMeeting Houses in LexingtonIBuilt 1692, when the townwas a parish of Cambridge:IIBuilt 1713, on theIncorporation of Lexington:IIIBuilt 1794: Burned, 1846.
This spot is thus identified withthe town's history for 50 years.
In 1714, Lexington selectmen gave John Muzzey permission to keep a "Publique House of Entertainment." On Sundays townspeople came here for a hot flip and a warm fire after sitting for hours in the unheated church.
John Buckman owned this inn du…