You searched for Postal Code: 16115
Showing results 1 to 10 of 18
This monument was erected in 1887 to honor Daniel Leasure, who was an American Soldier that served in the Union Army as a Colonel and Brigade Commander during the American Civil War. Mr. Leasure attended Greersburg Academy across the street from h…
Honoring all veterans who answered the call-served, fought or died so that others could be free to live in peace.
George Foulks frontiersman built saw and gristmaills. Jesse Martin owned for some years. Reuben Watt and sons James and Thomas also ran it. The iron bridge placed on National Register June 22, 1988.
Protesting the slave holding decree of 1845 the Free Presbyterian Church was formed, and followers led by Reverend A.B. Bradford erected this beautiful church in 1847 after the Civil War in 1867 a jointure was made with the reformed presbyterians …
In 1808 Samuel Caughey bought from Peter Crowl 15 acres of land house stables and saw mill for 1200 dollars here on the Little Beaver. In 1812 he built a grist mill. He gave it to sons James and Samuel Jr in 1820. It was in operation until 1876.
Brush Run Seceder Church James Duncan first pastor, held services in a 5 x 12 tent, later a log cabin. In 1811 a two acre cemetery created. The church relocated in 1848 as United Presbyterian church near Darlington, with B.F. Sawyer as pastor.
In 1821 Matthew Elder built the first woolen factory in this area and bought wool from miles around. He ran a large general store with an extensive trade. He also ran a flax seed oil mill. In connection with his brother William, he ran a grist mill.
George Foulkes Home oldest in areaCaptured by Indians in 1780. Escaped to help country. Outstanding character bold woodsman. Furbuyer Indian Scout and thrifty businessman. Married C. Ullery 1796. Built stone house, mills, and first brick house in …
Settled in 1795. Named for the Cannel coal found here. Mine opened 1838. Homestead of Ira Mansfield, mine owner, author and state senator. Producer of shale oil for many years. Harmony Society built a railroad in 1850 to ship coal and oil to dista…
Founded in Cannelton by John White in late 1800's. Owner of coal and clay mines, friend of Harmonists, he was superintendent of Darlington Cannal Coal Railroad. Cemetery marked by Italian marble statue depicting White's daughter.