Historical Marker Search

You searched for Postal Code: 20735

Showing results 1 to 8 of 8
Name derives from 7000-acre grant by Lord Baltimore in 1703. Although present house, known as Poplar Hill for many years, may date from latter part of 18th century, it was believed built c. 1728 for Anne Talbot, niece of 14th Earl of Shrewsbury up…
Divided loyalties and ironies tore at Marylanders' hearts throughout the Civil War: enslaved African-Americans and free United States Colored Troops; spies and smugglers; civilians imprisoned without trial to protect freedom; neighbors and familie…
Named for the local indian tribe established in 1707 as a port for Maryland's colonial assembly and designated a tobacco inspection station in 1747. With siltation of Piscataway Creek in the 19th century, the tobacco inspection point was transferr…
Erected by friends and relatives of Reverend Father Horstkamp to commemorate the tragic death of his mother Mary Eve Horstkamp on August 28, 1931.
One of the oldest surviving one-room schoolhouses in Prince George's County, Thrift School was built in 1884. It replaced an earlier school from 1869 located on the same site. The School Commissioners, having acquired the one-acre tract from the B…
Owned and operated by the ardently pro-Southern Surratt family, this building was used by Confederate agents as a safe house during the Civil War. Built in 1852, the structure was a tavern, hostelry and post office. Surratt's son, John, Jr., a …
The brick portion of this building, probably constructed in the early 1800s, is believed to have served as an infirmary for the enslaved population. Here, African-American women often served as midwives and healers, delivering babies or attending …
The assassin of Lincoln stopped here at the house of Mrs. Surratt to secure ammunition on the night of April 14, 1865. He rode on to "T.B." and then to Dr. Mudd's who set his broken leg.