Historical Marker Search

You searched for Postal Code: 21502

Page 2 of 7 — Showing results 11 to 20 of 62
Independence Day, July 4th, 1828, would be an important day for Cumberland, Maryland. On that day, far to the east, the Chesapeake and Ohio Canal and the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad both broke ground. The finish line of these companies' race was t…
Opened July 1913National Register of Historic PlacesListed June 1973Presented by Preservation Society of Allegany CountySeptember 1987
Owned and managed by Joseph Feldstein, Metro Clothes was established in 1932 and originally located across the street. The business relocated to this site after the 1936 flood. Metro Clothes was a leading outfitter in men's and boys' clothing and …
Memorial in honor ofCol. Joshua FryBorn c. 1700 in England1731 · Professor of mathematics at William and Mary College, Planter in Albemarle County, Virginia, Member of House of Burgesses, First presiding judge of Albemarle County, Commander…
The store houses of The Ohio Company were first located near this point. In 1754 the first fort (called Mt. Pleasant) was built. Gen'l Edward Braddock enlarged the fort in 1755 and renamed it after his friend the Duke of Cumberland.
Near this point on June 10, 1755, after nearly a month's delay at Fort Cumberland, Braddock's troops started toward Fort Duquesne to wrest it from the French. On July 9, 1755, he met his terrible death at the Monongahela.
was originally chartered as the Cumberland Bank of Alleghany by an act of the 1811 Maryland Legislature and opened for business April 1, 1812. this is the oldest bank in Western Maryland and the second oldest National Bank in the state. Local arch…
On this site stood the First Presbyterian Church. During the Civil War it was used as a military hospital
Late in July 1864, Confederate Gen. John C. McCausland led his two cavalry brigades (about 2,800 men) northward into Pennsylvania and Maryland to capture Chambersburg and Cumberland and either collect a ransom or burn the towns. McCausland burned …
Here in Evitts Creek Valleyon August 1, 1864,General McCausland's Confederatecavalry, returning after burningChambersburg, was surprised byGeneral Kelley's Union troops fromCumberland. The Confederateswere repulsed and retreated acrossthe Potomac …