You searched for Postal Code: 43812
Showing results 1 to 10 of 31
The present Visitor Center opened in 1992, relocating from a smaller building. The Visitor Center houses a fifty-four seat theater, an exhibit hall with canal-related information, visitor services and offices for support staff. The Founders Galler…
Side A:The acknowledged host of the Underground Railroad in Coshocton County was Prior Foster, a well respected African American who lodged fugitive slaves in his shanty at Harbaugh Corner. He fed, sheltered, and clothed them and then accompanied …
This flag was created when Missouri was added to the Union. It was the first flag to be called "Old Glory" and to be recognized by the Army.
James Taylor, owner of a Coshocton woolen mill, built a house and possibly the fruit cellar on this lot in 1826. Taylor moved to California in 1840. Subsequent owners include David Frew, a miller, farmer, and a postmaster, and Daniel Rose, a Cosho…
In 1842, Maro Johnson purchased a portion of lot #2. The deed read that Johnson had to have the property paid for and a respectable building erected on it within one year. Those terms were met. The building became Dr. Johnson's office.
James LeRetilley Sr. purchased the building in 1849, a year before his death. In 1825, he moved to Caldersburgh from Muskingum County and opened a general store. He was the first postmaster in Caldersburgh (1826). After the canal opened, LeRetille…
Since its construction, this has always been a retail building: at one time a grocery store and once a mortuary. The upper floors contain private apartments.
The building is named after William Roscoe, an English poet and abolitionist.
Built in 1831, this "Old Warehouse" was used to store large quantities of grain, hides, wool and produce. There was a dry goods store on the upper level. Known as the "Mill Store" in the 1830's, this was the natural place for canal travelers to ac…
This Italianate design house was the home of Wilson Jacob, his wife Sarah, and their three children. Jacob was a teamster, transporting items using his team of horses.
The house is owned by Roscoe Village Foundation and is a private residence.
From 1833-1841 this property was owned by Joseph Kerr Johnson, father of John and David Johnson of the Johnson-Humrickhouse Museum and no relation to Maro Johnson. Built c.1833-1838, the house and property were purchased by Maro Johnson and John B…