The model training school opened September 17, 1906, on College Street. It offered 4 grades for Western teacher training. In 1911 moved to future site of Cherry Hall. Grades 5-8 added by 1913. Ties to city schools severed & 9th grade added, 1920. Moved to this site, 1925. Graduated 10 in 1st 4-yr. high school class, 1926. Side 2
Renamed University High in 1966, the school remained open until May 27, 1970. Directors were Sarah Scott, Laura Frazee, Mattie Hatcher, Leon Stephan, W.L. Matthews, C.H. Jaggers, Dero Downing, and James Carpenter. The school offered generations unique academic & extracurricular opportunities. Presented by the College High Alumni.