(Named in 1891 by first pastor, Rev. H.M. McKnight, in honor of Bishop Holland McTyeire, founder of Vanderbilt University.)
The Lincoln Methodist Episcopal Church South was organized in February 1889 with 22 members. Ground was broken for the church building in June of 1890 on land donated by the Heryford family. The cornerstone was laid September 9, 1890 - 92 members by that date.
The church building was dedicated June 21, 1891. The origin of the unique stained glass windows is unknown; they were paid for by Peter Ahart. The original trustees were Charles Beermann, John Howard, Verne Burdick, William Dipple, and Peter Ahart. In its first 80 years this church had 48 pastors.
The original elaborate steeple, blown down twice by heavy winds, was reduced in height by half in the early 1900's.
Marker provided by Silver Star Parlor #63Native Sons of the Golden Westand Placer Parlor #138Native Daughters of the Golden WestLincoln, California, September 9, 2000