This last home of Lemuel Chenowith (1811-1887) was built in 1856. The unique construction features in the hosue demonstrate his skills as an architect, carpenter, and bridgebuilder.
Lemuel and his brother Eli built a number of covered bridges on five Virginia turnpikes before the war, setting the standard for bridge construction. Their first bridge was built here in 1846 just behind where he later built his house. The covered bridge at Philippi, now restored to its original appearance, is the best known Chenoweth bridge, while the Barrackville bridge has the most remaining authentic material.
In 1837, Lemuel married Nancy Ann Hart and they had thirteen children. Two of their sons served in the Confederate Army. The eldest, Major Joseph H. Chenoweth, was killed at Port Republic. The second son, Zackary Taylor Chenoweth, then enlisted and served until the end of the war. Nevertheless, Union soldiers were billeted in the Chenoweth house during the war.
"...there is now better bridge builder than Mr. Chenoweth."
Superintendent Staunton-Parkersburg Turnpike