You searched for Postal Code: 12047
Showing results 1 to 10 of 31
Fonda Cemetery. . Early Settlers at Boght and Crescent. Intermarried with Lansing's. Organized the Boght Reformed Church in 1784. Fonda Rd. is named for the family.
var plainText = document.getElementById('inscription1').innerTe…
This Toll Bridge
Opened to the Public.
May 18th 1880.
Originated and Owned by
Thoams A. Knickerbacker.
Was Destroyed By Fire March 7, 1920.
Peebles Island State Park is located in the city of Cohoes (Albany County) and the village of Waterford (Saratoga County). Surrounded by the third and fourth branches of the Mohawk River, this 191-acre park includes Polrump, Goat, and Peebles Is…
There is abundant evidence of Indian occupation on Peebles and Van Schaick Islands. Hammerstones and projectile points have been discovered and suggest that early tribes lived in this area. Archeologists uncovered a number of early hearths here …
During the Revolutionary War, American troops camped on Van Schaick and Peebles Islands. Thaddaeus Kosciuszko, a prominent Polish engineer who aided the American cause, designed the earthworks that are visible today near the bridge to Waterford.…
A colonial ford across
the Mohawk River from
which Waterford derives
its name. Site of the
colonial Fort Half-Moon
Cluett, Peabody & Co., a Troy-based manufacturer of men's collars and shirts, purchased Peebles Island in 1909. The abundant water, existing rail lines, and proximity to the company's Troy factory made the island an ideal location for treating unf…
You are looking at the northern tip of Van Schaick Island. The Hudson River flows to the east, and the third and fourth branches of the Mohawk River flow around the rest of this rocky island.
Dutch merchants Philip Pietersen Schuyler and Goosen G…
Erected under direction
of Thaddeus Koscuiszko
in August-September 1777
to check Burgoyne's invasion
The Matton ShipyardJohn E. Matton built his shipyard here on Van Schaick Island in 1916, shortly after the new Barge Canal opened. Besides building barges and tugboats, the shipyard serviced and repaired the boats that travelled both the Erie and …