1850 - 1950Sawyers Bar is perhaps the most picturesque of the northern mining towns. It was founded in 1850 by Captain John Best and party who were guided to the spot by a friendly Indian. The town was originally called Bestville and had over 3,000 inhabitants. It owes it present name to the fact that on an adjacent gravel bar stood the camp of early day mill sawyers. The most noteworthy features are the century old frame buildings and the famous Catholic Church, counterpart of the southern mission. The towns (sic) first postmaster was John Daggett who in 1883 became Lt. Governor of California.
|Placed By||Sawyers Bar and the County of Siskiyou|
|Marker Condition||No reports yet|
|Date Added||Sunday, September 14th, 2014 at 2:26pm PDT -07:00|
|UTM (WGS84 Datum)||10T E 489090 N 4571752|
|Decimal Degrees||41.29715000, -123.13030000|
|Degrees and Decimal Minutes||N 41° 17.829', W 123° 7.818'|
|Degrees, Minutes and Seconds||41° 17' 49.74" N, 123° 7' 49.08" W|
|Driving Directions||Google Maps|
|Closest Postal Address||At or near 26201-26221 Sawyers Bar Rd, Etna CA 96027, US|
|Alternative Maps||Google Maps, MapQuest, Bing Maps, Yahoo Maps, MSR Maps, OpenCycleMap, MyTopo Maps, OpenStreetMap|
Have you seen this marker? If so, check in and tell us about it.