Probably one of the most picturesque views of Vicksburg is that of the two bridges over the Mississippi River. The first bridge was constructed in 1930 for $6,500,000 to transport vehicles and trains.
It was, at that time, the only bridge across the river between Memphis and New Orleans. The steel cantilever bridge is 7500 feet between the approaches with a total length of 2.89 miles.
The "new" Mississippi River bridge that carries Interstate 20, opened on February 15, 1973. The boats pictured with the bridges are the "Motor Vessel Mississippi" owned by the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, the Coast Guard Cutter "Kickapoo," and "Big Valley," owned by Ergon. The "Mississippi" has been an inspection and work boat for the Mississippi River Commission since 1993. It is 241' long and 52' from the waterline to the pilot house. The "Kickapoo" was built in 1969 and came to Vicksburg in 1976. It is named after an Indian tribe and is 75' long, pushes a 130' barge, and is responsible for 120 miles of river. The "Big Valley" is an Ergon grocery boat. Towboats call in advance with fuel and grocery orders and this boat will pull up along side with its delivery so that the towboat does not have to take the time to come into port for supplies.
Sponsored by Ray & Nancy Neilsen