Built in 1881, John Bright #2 covered bridge
originally spanned Poplar Creek on Bish Road near
Baltimore, Ohio. It is named after pioneer settler
John Bright, whose family farm was located near
the original site. August Borneman of Lancaster,
the leading bridge builder in the area, built the
70-foot span for a cost of $927.50. The bridge
features a rare inverted bowstring truss and a
unique metal sway bracing system. Sometime later
a wooden arch was added. In 1975, John Bright #2 was
listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
Ohio Untversity Lancaster Dean Ray Wilkes led
efforts to save John Bright #2 after it could no
longer carry vehicular traffic. In April of 1988 the
bridge was moved 12 miles from Poplar Creek to
Fetter's Run at Ohio University Lancaster, where
preservation efforts on the bridge were undertaken.
Cooperation among Ohio University Lancaster,
Fairfield County, local businesses and organizations,
and volunteers enabled the completion of the
project in 1990. John Bright #2 is a testament
to innovative bridge building techniques in the late
19th century and community cooperation and
pride 100 years later.