Historical Marker Search

You searched for City|State: sturgeon bay, wi

Showing results 1 to 10 of 42
Schooner Perry Hannah Type: Wooden Schooner, two-masted Built: 1859, Thomas Arnold, Newport, Mich. Sank: October 16, 1880 Length: 93' Beam: 25' Cargo: Wood Depth of Wreckage: 6' Schooner Cecelia Type: Wooden Schooner, three-masted Buil…
This stern frame cast iron propeller and steel shaft is believed to be from the lumber steamer Mueller which was built as Edwin S. Tice in 1887 at the Burger yards in Manitowoc, Wisconsin. She measured 159.9 x 32.1 x 12.5; 728 gross tons. The vess…
This light tower was used by the Coast Guard to mark Dunlap Reef, which is east of the navigation channel and north of the railroad bridge spur. (Bay View Park) in Sturgeon Bay. Purchased with funds provided by Door County Marine Men's Club
This cast iron propeller and stirrup bearing unit is from the Steamer Wotum, which was built in 1893. This historic ship was 190 feet long, had a 36-foot beam, and weighed 936 gross tons. A steam engine was installed about 1910 - fore and aft type…
This property is listed in the National Register of Historic Places by the United States Department of the Interior and the Citizens For Our Bridge organization Opened July 4, 1931 ——————— Stur…
This engine is from the Mercury (length 250.8, beam 43.01), which was built by the Pennsylvania Shipyard of Beaumont, Texas. She was launched in June 1937 for Tankers, Inc. before moving to Lakeland Tankers Ltd., its Canadian subsidiary in 1947. A…
This property has been placed on the National Register of Historic Places by the United States Department of the Interior
This visually prominent building is a handsome example of the two-part commercial block style common during the period. It originally anchored what was once downtown's principal business corner prior to the completion of the Michigan Street Bridge…
This structure is listed in the National Register of Historic Places in Washington, D.C.
The Henry S. Baird Masonic Lodge was initially established in 1878 and was housed in a number of locations around downtown [illegible] 50 years before establishing a permanent home at this location. The building was designed by local architect Fre…