Robert Frederick Barrick entered the military service in 1909 as a private in the Maryland National Guard in Frederick, Maryland. He was commissioned in 1917. In 1926, he was given the task of building a Maryland National Guard training camp on a mountain site near Cascade, Maryland. It was named Camp Albert C. Richie, for the governor of Maryland at that time.
Barrick had only a seventh grade education and his knowledge of engineering was limited to that gained from books in his free time. Supplementing this with practical experience, natural talent, and determination, Barrick drew plans for, and directed the construction of, every stone building on the post.
This building was originally an officers dining hall.
Barrick was promoted to major in 1937 and, in 1942, received a Regular Army commission. He retired in 1953 with the rank of lieutenant colonel. He died in Frederick in 1966.
This library is dedicated to his memory.